BT Sport to Broadcast Hero CPL in UK and Republic of Ireland

Port of Spain, Trinidad, 13 July 2017

BT Sport to Broadcast Hero CPL in UK and Republic of Ireland

The Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will be broadcast on BT Sport in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland for the 2017 season. The Biggest Party in Sport begins on the 4th August and will run until the 9th September.

The global audience for the Hero CPL is growing year on year and BT Sport are the perfect partner for the tournament with their increased commitment to the coverage of live cricket evident with the Ashes due to be broadcast on the channel this winter.

All 34 matches will be shown live on BT Sport with games taking place in St Lucia, St Kitts & Nevis, Guyana, Jamaica, Barbados and Trinidad & Tobago as well as the matches that are taking place in Fort Lauderdale, Florida for the second successive year.

Damien O’Donohoe, Chief Executive Officer of the Hero CPL said: “We are delighted to have BT Sport as our broadcast partner in the UK. Their commitment to the broadcasting of high quality cricket is evident and it is great that cricket fans in the UK will be able to watch some amazing cricket played in the unique carnival atmosphere of the Caribbean.”

Simon Green, head of BT Sport, said: “We are looking forward to bringing fans coverage of the Hero Caribbean Premier League – with some of the most exciting action in this form of the game. The tournament complements a fantastic month on our channels and is another step toward our build up to this winter’s Ashes series in Australia.”

ABOUT THE HERO CARIBBEAN PREMIER LEAGUE: Since its inception in 2013, the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is a franchise-based T20 format cricket tournament that combines two of the most compelling aspects of Caribbean life – dramatic cricket and a vibrant Carnival atmosphere. Over 149 million fans watched the 2016 season, combining broadcast and digital viewership, to make it one of the fastest growing leagues in world cricket. Jamaica Tallawahs are the current Hero CPL champions and the other competing teams are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Stars and Trinbago Knight Riders. The 2017 tournament will run from 4 August – 9 September 2017. For further information visit


For further information please contact:

Peter Miller

Mobile: +447769119636

Head of PR and Communications

Hero Caribbean Premier League


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s